Attempting a healthy balancing act.

49:30 minutes! BAM!

I’m stoked!  I acheived a PR in the 10km race and finally broke 50 minutes!  49:30 kills my last PR last July of 53:18!  I just used a lot of exclamation marks there. 

I was a bit worried going into this race as I just got back from a 10 day trip to Italy the week before and didnt run at all while I was there.  I got in three really crappy and slow runs in the week leading up to the race but just wasn’t feeling my best.   Plus I had a little bit of a mind thing going on.  Last time I ran this race I started out strong and stalled to a dead halt @ 7.5 km as I was experiencing the worst cramp on the planet.  I actually thought something was seriously wrong.  It hurt so much in my side that I was limping because any leg movement KILLED.  I have never ever gotten a cramp like that. This is the race I learned the value of pacing.  It also made me afraid to push myself too hard.  So I went into the race on Sunday with visions of lying on the road in agony flashing through my head.  As I get more serious about running I am learning how to listen to my body more and also about proper training.  I think this helped me push hard but not run out of steam. 

I have also decided to run a half marathon in July.  My first one and probably my last before I get knocked up.  I have six weeks to train.  I am not aiming to be fast, I’m aiming to finish.  Anything around the 2 hour mark would make me happy though.  I plugged everything into Smart Coach and it created a plan for me.  This is what the first week looks like.   There is a lot (too many IMO) of really short 5 km or less runs in the plan.  I might up them a few km.  Like change the 4 km run to 6 km.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Easy Run  Easy Run Tempo Run Easy Run Rest/XT Long Run Rest/ XT
4 KM @ 6:03 4 KM @ 6:03 9 KM inc warm, 6 KM @ 5:24, cool 4 KM @ 6:03   21 KM @ 6:03  
Leave a Reply

