Attempting a healthy balancing act.

Race day tomorrow!  Race day tomorrow!  Good luck to me!  The 1st race of the year is always nerve-wracking as it feels  a little like the unknown.  I only have last year’s times as a point of reference and A LOT can happen in a year. 

I like running.  Running is very enjoyable.  It’s a time where I can go out and just have ‘me” time.  I can play upbeat music and go at my own pace. I prefer running first thing in the morning as it gives me a great start to my day.  I feel good and my mood is lifted.  I’ve only recently started to run after work when I can’t in the morning.  It’s a great way to unwind from the day and have a good long think about things.  I find that I have more bad runs after work than I do in the morning though.  Running is a fun and I like it a lot. 

Now racing…. I LOOOOVE racing.  I both look forward to and dread races (I always get nervous).   I love the atmosphere, the anticipation, standing in the crowd and feeling their energy.  I love the last km where I can see the finish line and I give it my all.  I love the door prizes (though I have yet to win one).  I love the rush when they post the times on a tree.   I LOVE the post race snacks (my favorite part lol).  A banana or a muffin has never tasted so darn good.  I adore the race t-shirts (my husband does too because he gets all the huge ones that don’t fit).  I always wear mine for the race.  Mostly, I love competing.  Both against myself and (secretly) against others.  There is always one person in each race who seems to go at pretty close to the same pace as me.  It is always my goal to beat the person.   I am super competitive by nature and I can’t help but competing just a little bit with others.  It drives me to be better.  I want to be the passer, not the passee. 🙂

I love the 10K distance because I KNOW I can finish it but not so easily that it’s not a challenge.  Sure I can finish it, but how far can I push myself?   I don’t finish a 10k and go “ok let’s do another”.  I finish it and go “ok I need to sit down”.  I like that.  Because I’m not worried about completing it I can focus on becoming faster at it.  Seeing the times get faster and faster is a lot more gratifying for me then being happy to have done it.  I don’t want to just do something.  I want to do something and be AWESOME.  That being said, I am not awesome at 10k’s yet…but someday….

What is your favorite thing about races?  What is your favorite distance?

Leave a Reply

