Attempting a healthy balancing act.

Last night was a cozy Friday in with some tea and a chick flick – Life as We Know It.  It was super cute.  I  liked it.  I LOVED Katherine Heigl’s wardrobe in it.  She had these awesome flared pants that I NEED. Anyway….- But I also felt the needs for something a little sweet, yet light, since I ate such a heavy risotto for dinner (again, awesome). 

Enter the baked apple concoction:

I made this recipe up and just started throwing things in there that I thought would taste good.   I baked it all in tin foil at 400 degrees for 30 mins.

1 apple (I used Spartan), sliced

1 tbs of natural peanut butter

1.5 tsp brown sugar

2 tbs oats

cinnamon (I just put on a few shakes of the container)

sprinkling of chocolate chips.

Step 1: Cut apples and lay on foil

Step 2:  Throw other stuff on top and wrap foil

Step 3: Enjoy.   

It was like apple crisp but lighter. 

And now for something random that I am proud of:  My orchid! 

These babies are notorious for being temperamental and dying a terrible death after the first bloom.  I have managed to keep this beauty alive for 2.5 years and 3 (THREE!!!) blooms.  Amazing considering that I killed my hyacinth at work after 3 days.

My Hyacinth (RIP):

This is not my fault though.  I found out after the fact that the cat (we have an office cat) likes to come by once or twice a day and munch on my Hyacinth leaves – they immediately die.  Not cool, cat.  Not cool.

Comments on: "I Made This…and it Tasted Good." (2)

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! And beautiful flowers! My husband’s really into gardening so we have lots of flowers around the yard. It’s a good thing because I am more the kill it in 3 days type…I can do this without a cat.

  2. Wow – so simple and now I must try! Gorgeous orchid – they are my fav!

Leave a Reply

